If there is a claim for a money judgment on a landlord tenant case the District Court has jurisdiction up to $25,000.00. If a claim for money exceeds the court's jurisdiction, the District Court determines the possession issue and the Circuit Court determines the money portion. Partnerships may not be represented in court by officers, directors, or other employees who are not licensed to practice law in Michigan.
The action must be filed at the District Court where the premises are located.
- Three (3) copies of the notice for non-payment of rent or termination of tenancy
- Three (3) copies of the lease/rental agreement, if applicable
- One (1) carbon pack summons or five (5) copies
- One (1) carbon pack complaint or five (5) copies
- One (1) envelope addressed to the defendant with adequate postage
- Appropriate filing fee
- Name of Process Server Chosen from Bonded Court Officer List (Process server will send a bill for service)
- Five (5) copies of the notice for non-payment of rent or termination of tenancy
- Five (5) copies of the lease/rental agreement, if applicable
- Two (2) carbon pack summons or seven (7) copies - please list both defendant's names on each form
- Two (2) carbon pack complaints or seven (7) copies- please list both defendant's names on each form
- Two (2) envelopes - one addressed to each defendant with adequate postage
- Appropriate filing fee
- Name of Process Server chosen from the Bonded Court Officer list (process server will send a bill for service)
Forms & Fees
SCAO-Approved Court Form Search
Commonly Used Landlord Tenant Forms
- Practical Guide for Tenants & Landlord
- Demand for Possession, Non-Payment or Rent Landlord-Tenant
- Notice to Quit, Health Hazard/Injury, Landlord Tenant - DC100b
- Notice to Quit, Termination of Tenancy, Landlord Tenant - DC100c
- Notice to Quit, Termination of Tenancy, Mobile Home Park - DC100d
- Forfeiture Notice, Land Contract - DC101
- Complaint, Non-Payment of Rent, Landlord Tenant - DC102a
- Complaint, Termination of Tenancy, Landlord Tenant - DC102c
- Complaint, Termination of Tenancy, Mobile Home Park - DC102d
- Complaint for Possession After Land Contract Forfeiture - DC103
- Summons, Landlord-Tenant/Land Contract - DC104
- Judgment Landlord-Tenant - DC105
- Order of Eviction-Landlord Tenant/Land Contract - DC107
- Request and Order of Eviction, After Conditional Dismissal, Landlord-Tenant/Land Contract
- Motion and Affidavit to Set Aside Default, Possession Judgment - DC99b
- Motion and Affidavit to Set Aside Default, Money Judgement - DC99c
- Voluntary Dismissal - MC09
- Subpoena-Order to Appear - MC11
- Motion for Installment Payments - MC15
- Motion to Set Aside Order for Installment Payments - MC16
- Certificate of Satisfied Judgment - MC17
- Request and Order to Seize Property - MC19
- Motion, Affidavit and Bench Warrant - MC229
- Order for Administrative Closing Due to Bankruptcy Stay - MC300
- Motion and Verification for Alternate Service - MC303
- Order for Alternate Service - MC304
- Order - MC327
- Notice of Judgment Lien - MC94
- Landlord Tenant Assistance Information
- Advice of Rights Landlord Tenant - DC 536
- Request for Court Mailing and Record of Mailing DC536
Additional Landlord Tenant forms can be found at the Michigan Courts Website.
Landlord-Tenant Filing Fees for Possession Only
- Filing Fee for Possession Only: $45 + $10 e-filing fee $55
Landlord-Tenant Filing Fees for Possession & Money Judgement
- Claim is under $600.00 and under: $70 + $20 e-filing fee = $90
- Claim is $600.01 to $1,750.00: $90 + $20 e-filing fee = $110
- Claim is $1,750.01 to $10,000.00: $110 + $20 e-filing fee = $130
- Claim is $10,000.01 to $25,000.00: $195 + $20 e-filing fee = $215
- Jury Demand Fee: $50
- Motion Fee: $20
Landlord-Tenant Service Fees
- Fee for Court's Process Server - per defendant*: Rate Fluctuates
- Mileage Fees*: Rate Fluctuates
Process Servers
Please choose from one of the following process servers:
- Hope and Associates: (810) 239-7788
- Walt Johnson and Associates: 810-845-1846
- Rancillio and Associates: 586-792-3810